Proteas add three new faces to T20i squad to face India

Three new faces have been named in the Proteas squad for the upcoming three-match T20 International (T20i) series to be played against India later in the month.

Pink ODI hero Heinrich Klaasen is in line to make his debut in the shortest format of the game, along with Titans teammate Junior Dala as well as Warriors big-hitting batsman Christiaan Jonker.

The side will be captained by JP Duminy in the absence of Faf du Plessis, while the man who stepped in the regular skipper’s shoes for the ODI series, Aiden Markram has been rested in preparation for the Test series against Australia next month.

Free signup to our Expat Matchjust click now !!

Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel and Kagiso Rabada have also been given a break, while AB de Villiers remains in the setup.

According to selection convenor Linda Zondi, de Villiers has not been rested, due to his long absence from the side leading up to the summer. He has also just returned from a finger injury which ruled him out of the first three ODIs in the current series.

Leg-spinner Imran Tahir is another player who will not feature in the series, instead Aaron Phangiso and Tabraiz Shamsi will share the spin-bowling duties, but Zondi maintains that the 38-year old remains the first-choice spinner.

“The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020 so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament,” Zondi said.

Proteas T20 squad
JP Duminy (Cape Cobras, captain),
Farhaan Behardien (Titans),
Junior Dala (Titans),
AB de Villiers (Titans),
Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions),
Christiaan Jonker (Warriors),
Heinrich Klaasen (Titans),
David Miller (Knights),
Chris Morris (Titans),
Dane Paterson (Betting Cape Cobras),
Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions),
Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins),
Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans),
Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors)

Details of matched to follow

Free signup to our Expat Matchjust click now !!

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *